READING LOG

Qing Tian from the House of Chou joint series — written by Kna. I love the way this piece sets itself up with questions to pace the story and to give more details and history. It’s a beautiful, intimate recollection featuring the butterfly and its keeper.

Excerpt & additional recs under the cut.

Do you remember when it was raining in July? I asked you what you were doing and you said you were dancing. I can still see it clearly; I stood there with my clear umbrella and rain boots while you pranced around, looking like an idiot. But while I was holding up heaven, you were drenched in its taste, kissed by the clouds’ spittle as you plopped your feet in and out of puddles.

You splashed some on me and I encountered a bit of your world.

How many years have you been seeing this world? Even more, how many years have you been keeping this secret to yourself?

The Night Train by bonjour tristesse. Man, some stories just have great titles. I was drawn to this thread because of its title and stayed because of the intriguing beginning… Is it fate? Serendipity? For the past eleven nights, Jiyong has run into the same girl on the same train, at the same time. But tonight, something changes in the equation…

The first couple of days was a coincidence. I always made a run for the last train schedule from work and happened to land right across from where she sat. But the following week, I always made sure to sit right across from her. Sometimes, it would be just the two of us. Other times, there would be one or two other students coming home late from universities. Her stop was one stop before mine so she always got out earlier than I did. Every night, I hoped she’d say something to me. But one week passed and there was not a time where she made eye contact with me. In fact, I don’t remember her staring at me at all. Maybe she was too caught up in her book or maybe she just didn’t want to talk to me. It was sad to think about. How bad was it that a book could be more interesting than me. 

On the 11th night, I was caught off guard when she didn’t get off her stop.

Superboy and the Invisible Girl by skyelee (Tara). Sometimes you just need feel-good crack, served high school side up. Indulge yourself in this very sweet fic featuring Aaron Tveit and Jeon Jihyun. An unexpected but extremely well-written pairing. Gonna be cheesy philosophical here and quote Lao Tzu: Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage.

“I thought I told y—”

“To pretend not to know you, and to not talk to you anymore. Yeap.” He made space for her on the porch but she didn’t seem too keen on taking up that space. “I tried. Didn’t like it one bit. Besides… this is your home. I’m certain that you’re safe here, more than anywhere else.”

“Okay, I get it. You don’t like cheeseburger.” Aaron put his guitar away and put the takeaway bag on his lap. “That’s actually good ‘cause… more for me.”

She chuckled. His jaw dropped.

“Good lord.”

“…what?”

“Nothing, you just laughed.”

Leave a Reply

