FAN ON THE STREET: YVES

THE BASICS:

Name: Yves L.
DOB: 11-20-1988
Contact information: jyl_yves[AT]yahoo.com
Online aliases: jyl
Forums most frequented: soompi, ficaholics, solid07
Completed fics:
Battling With A Hot Guy, In The Midst of Goodbye (1-shot),
A Tiny Speck of Gold (1-shot), Theories (short fic),
Dejavu, My Spring Angel (short fic), Serendipitious,
Forever Remain, Foolish Love (my 1st ever <3)
Current fics:

Amor Complacentiae, The Cover-up
(Both are HIATUS though XD)
Additional information:
I used to be too much of a fangirl of SUJU, but now I’m more of a 2PM fan.  But I do still like SUJU, along with all the other boybands that I’ve come across for the past 6 years (Shinhwa, FTTS, DBSK, Big Bang).

TOP 5…
– FAVORITE FICS…
It’s not arranged in any order, there’s all equally my fave:
What I Did for Love (like most of the people, this was the first fic I’ve read)
Glass Rose
Jaded
TF – To My Boyfriend
TF – Toy
– FAVORITE WRITERS…

I don’t really have favorite writers who I can say I follow loyally, but my favorite writers whom I really look up to are Ji Eunie, kpopchild, linkinpark, 4tang, dearskye :D
– MUST READS OF YOUR TIME…
Aside from the top 5 I gave, the fics from 4tang, kpopchild and linkinpark were really great.  And the TF’s then were just as great.  I was most active during 2004-2006, then I was gone for a year, then I came back in 2008-2009. Now, I’m not that active anymore because of med school.
– GUILTY PLEASURES…

I like reading fanfics that show the side of my favorite gasoos that I can see on screen.  Like Eric, being a tough guy or GD being the player character.  And I love reading fanfics that have awesome quotes, like Toy.

MOST MEMORABLE…
– LINE/SCENE FROM A FIC & why…

Hm… since it’s been years since I’ve read some of the fics, the only lines I can remember right now are the ones I’ve recently read, so for now, I guess it would be from Solangel’s Banana Pancakes “there’s the psychological side to feelings called reciprocity, where you automatically feel as though you should like the person that likes you. That’s why it takes a strong individual to break away from that and discover their true feelings.” I really liked this because it’s really true.
– CHARACTER(S) & why…
Ji Won from ‘What I did for love – he was the first “bad boy yet romantic” guy I’ve ever read.
EunHyung from ‘To My Boyfriend’ because he was funny yet he was probably the sweetest guy, at the same time.
Yuii from ‘Toy’ because she wasn’t the usual sweet girl who tries to win the guy over.  She was tough on the outside yet very soft in the inside.
– COUPLE & why…
My most memorable couple is EunHyung and Kang Soon from ‘To My Boyfriend’ because their story was so bittersweet, and they made me cry XD
– MOMENT IN FIC HISTORY…
When the DBSK/SUJU trend came out, for me, is the most memorable. It’s because it was at that time when I really wrote a fanfic out of fandom.  Before then, I just wrote stories without considering which gasoo would really fit the character and all.  But when DBSK/SUJU became popular, I became more of a fanfic writer :D

I WISH I COULD HAVE COME UP WITH…

– THIS TITLE…
‘Perfect Imperfection’ by Moe. I was a day or two too late for this title haha.
– THIS LINE…
“It’s not easy being alone, but compared to being hurt and going through pain, loneliness is more easier to handle” from ‘Toy’.  This is one of my favorite lines.

SHOUT BOX…
The fanfic section of soompi is really different now as compared to before. Although there are still many talented writers posting in the fanfic section these days, I just noticed that most of the time, the popular ones are the only ones being given attention.  When I started out in soompi years ago (haha I feel so old), even though I wrote horrible, people read my writing and gave me constructive criticisms. And I think that helped me become the writer that I am today. I guess what I’m trying to say is that readers in soompi right now should also try reading the other fics in the section so that more writers would be encouraged to write and improve.

As for my readers who have supported me for the past years, I would like to say thank you very much, because I feel honored to have you guys.  I would also like to apologize to the readers of my newly posted fics that I haven’t had the chance to update because of med school.  I promise I will write again when I get a chance.

Leave a Reply

